Creating homes and places where people want to live

Types of tenancy

Introductory tenancy

If you haven't been a council tenant before, you'll get an introductory tenancy. It means you have fewer right than a secure tenant and it's easier for us to evict you if we need to. 

Introductory tenancies last for 1 year and automatically become secure tenancies after that, unless you've breached any of your tenancy conditions. If there has been a breach, the introductory tenancy may be extended by a further 6 months. 

Breaches of an introductory tenancy include anti-social behaviour that may result in eviction if the breach of tenancy is very secure. 

We'll always explain the action that we wish to take and you have the right to ask for a review of our decisions.

Secure tenancy

If you've successfully completed the one-year (or longer if it's been extended) introductory tenancy, you'll then get a secure tenancy. 

A secure tenancy gives you more rights, including, the exclusive right to live in your home and the right to buy. You can't be evicted unless we can prove there are grounds for us to do so, such as, continued anti-social behaviour, and/or the terms of your tenancy are kept to.

Furnished tenancy

We offer furnished tenancies, subject to an affordability check. Find out more about our furnished tenancies

Demoted tenancy

Your tenancy will be demoted if you've seriously breached the conditions of your secure tenancy. You'll have fewer rights, similar to those of an introductory tenant. 

A demoted tenancy lasts 12 months, unless we decide to evict you during that period.